California Occupational License

License Title:
    Solar Contractor
Return to Occupation Profile
Licensing Agency:
     Department of Consumer Affairs
     Contractors State License Board
     License Information Center

Licensing Agency Contact Information:
     Address: 9821 Business Park Drive
Sacramento,  CA  95827

     Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
     Fax Number: (916) 255-4535

     Internet Address:

License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
All contractors/builders must be licensed by the Contractors State License Board in order to perform work in California. The list of classifications and scope of work for each is available on the Board’s website at

Solar Contractor, Class Code C-46.

License Application Fee: $300. Initial License Fee: $180 for 2 years.
Experience Requirement: At least 4 years journey level experience; must be at least 18 years of age.
Exam Requirement: Business/law exam and trade exam.
Exam Frequency: Computerized exams given daily at 8 sites throughout the state.
Re-exam Fee: $60
Additional License Requirements: Fingerprinting, license bond(s), proof of workers' compensation coverage or exemption therefrom.

Renewal Period: Active: $360 for 2 years; Inactive: $180 for 4 years.

Comments: The Board's publication "Building Your Career as a Licensed Contractor", study guides and license applications can be found on the Contractors State License Board's Web site at

Authority: Business and Professions Code, Section 7000 et seq.
California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Section 810 et seq.
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Occupation TitleSOC Code
Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers 499021