California Occupational License

License Title:
Return to Occupation Profile
Licensing Agency:
     Department of Consumer Affairs
     Veterinary Medical Board

Licensing Agency Contact Information:
     Address: 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 230
Sacramento,  CA  95834

     Phone Number: (916) 515-5220
     Fax Number: (916) 928-6849

     E-mail Address:
     Internet Address:

License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
Fees: Application: $125
Examination: $200 for State Board, Veterinary Law Exam $100
License: $290

Examination Frequency: Continuous

Exam Locations: Varies

Experience Requirement: Doctorate in Veterinary Medicine.

Average Time to Process Application: 60 Days

Renewal Period: Biennially (every second year).

Special License Requirements: See Department of Food and Agriculture, Bureau of Animal Health, also U.S. Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.

Comments: Veterinary Hospital Premise Registration: $200 (annually).

Authority: California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Chapter 20.
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Occupation TitleSOC Code
Veterinarians 291131