California Occupational License

License Title:
    Dental Assistant - Registered
Return to Occupation Profile
Licensing Agency:
     Department of Consumer Affairs
     Dental Board of California
     Administration Unit

Licensing Agency Contact Information:
     Address: 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550
Sacramento,  CA  95815

     Phone Number: (916) 263-2300
     Fax Number: (916) 263-2140

     E-mail Address:
     Internet Address:

License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
Dental Assistant - Registered

Fees: Application: $20
Practical Examination: $60
Written Examination: $43
Law and Ethics Written Examination: $23

Examination Frequency: Four times a year.

Exam Locations: Statewide (Contact Dental Board for locations).

Experience Requirement: Graduation from a Board-approved dental assistant program or 15 months on-the-job training as a dental assistant for a licensed dentist. Completion of approved courses in Radiation Safety, Coronal Polishing, 8-hour Infection Control course, 2-hour Dental Practice Act course, Current American Heart Association or American Red Cross Basic Life Support course.

Average Time to Process Application: 30 days.

Renewal Period: Biennially (every second year).

Comments: All dentists utilizing a dental assistant must post the duties and functions of a dental assistant as allowed by the Board. (California Code of Regulations, Section 1068).

Authority: Business and Professions Code, Section 1752.
California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Chapter 3, Article 3.
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Occupation TitleSOC Code
Dental Assistants 319091