Metropolitan Statistical Areas in California

Labor Market Information Resources and Data: Home | By Customer | By Subject | By Geography | Data Search Tools | Online Services

On February 28, 2013, the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) announced an update to statistical area delineations based on the application of the new standards to data from the 2010 Census.

MSA Definition and Delineations

OMB establishes and maintains the delineations of Metropolitan Statistical Areas, Metropolitan Divisions, and Micropolitan Statistical Areas solely for statistical purposes. These new Metropolitan Areas become the standard geographic areas for which economic data are produced by cooperative programs of the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The 2010 standards replace and supersede the 2000 standards for defining Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas. OMB's 2010 standards provide for the identification of the following types of statistical areas in California:

  • Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSA) have at least one urbanized area of 50,000 or more population, plus adjacent territory that has a high degree of social and economic integration with the core as measured by commuting ties.
  • Metropolitan Divisions (MD) - If specified criteria are met, a Metropolitan Statistical Area containing a single core with a population of 2.5 million or more may be subdivided to form smaller groupings of counties. In California, there are five Metropolitan Divisions that combine into two MSA, one in Southern California and the other in the Bay Area. The EDD will publish data at the Metropolitan Division level to maintain the same geographic configuration for these two MSA that is currently published. Data for the two MSA will be published at the BLS Web site. The MSA and their Metropolitan Divisions are:

    • Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA MSA
    • Los Angeles-Long Beach-Glendale, CA MD
      (Los Angeles County)
    • Anaheim-Santa Ana-Irvine, CA MD
      (Orange County)
    • San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA MSA
    • San Francisco-Redwood City-South San Francisco, CA MD
      (San Francisco and San Mateo Counties)
    • Oakland-Hayward-Berkeley, CA MD
      (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties)
    • San Rafael, CA MD
      (Marin County)

  • Micropolitan Statistical Areas have at least one urban cluster of at least 10,000 but less than 50,000 population, plus adjacent territory that has a high degree of social and economic integration with the core as measured by commuting ties. Data for these areas will be identified for the counties rather than for the Micropolitan Statistical Area.

    • Clearlake Micro, CA (Lake County)
    • Crescent City Micro, CA (Del Norte County)
    • Eureka-Arcata-Fortuna Micro, CA (Humboldt County)
    • Red Bluff Micro, SA (Tehama County)
    • Sonora Micro, CA (Tuolumne County)
    • Susanville Micro, CA (Lassen County)
    • Truckee-Grass Valley Micro, CA (Nevada County)
    • Ukiah Micro, CA Micropolitan Statistical Area (Mendocino County)

  • Combined Statistical Areas (CSA) – If specified criteria are met, adjacent Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas, in various combinations, may become the components of a Combined Statistical Areas. The EDD produces data for the MSA components of the CSA, not the CSA itself.

Back to Top

Current MSA List

MSA County
Anaheim-Santa Ana-Irvine MD Orange County
Bakersfield MSA Kern County
Chico MSA
Butte County
El Centro MSA
Imperial County
Fresno MSA
Fresno County
Hanford-Corcoran MSA
Kings County
Los Angeles-Long Beach-Glendale MD
Los Angeles County
Madera MSA
Madera County
Merced MSA
Merced County
Modesto MSA
Stanislaus County
Napa MSA
Napa County
Oakland-Hayward-Berkeley MD
Alameda and Contra Costa Counties
Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura MSA
Ventura County
Redding MSA
Shasta County
Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario MSA
Riverside and San Bernardino Counties
Sacramento-Roseville-Arden-Arcade MSA
El Dorado, Placer, Sacramento, and Yolo Counties
Salinas MSA
Monterey County
San Diego-Carlsbad MSA
San Diego County
San Francisco-Redwood City-South San Francisco MD
San Francisco and San Mateo Counties
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA
San Benito and Santa Clara Counties
San Luis Obispo-Paso Robles-Arroyo Grande MSA
San Luis Obispo County
San Rafael MD
Marin County
Santa Cruz-Watsonville MSA
Santa Cruz County
Santa Maria-Santa Barbara MSA
Santa Barbara County
Santa Rosa MSA
Sonoma County
Stockton-Lodi MSA
San Joaquin County
Vallejo-Fairfield MSA
Solano County
Visalia-Porterville MSA
Tulare County
Yuba City MSA
Sutter and Yuba Counties

Back to Top

Historical MSA

For a historical MSA listing for California and other states visit the U.S. Census Bureau Historical MSA summary page.

Back to Top